The Golden Egg

The Golden Egg

There are times when I see myself as a hen that lays golden eggs.

We all have read the story from Aesop’s Fables about the hen that laid golden eggs. There was a farmer and his wife who had a hen that laid golden eggs. They thought that the hen must have a big storehouse of gold in its stomach. With this thought in mind they killed the hen (beware of PETA), ripped it apart and much to their amazement (and our amusement) the hen was nothing different from other hens from inside. We call it KLPD. This piece served as a warning against excessive greed.

When I visit the tea stalls near my office I encounter a very common situation where I am offered more than I ordered. When I order a single omelette, the shopkeeper deliberately asks whether it is single or double egg. Or they offer me to an extra cup of tea. Or they ask for a costlier brand of cigarette. This is the case with some shopkeepers, not all. They behave as if they are offering the extra cream without anything in return. Even last night when I went to my regular shop to buy 3 bananas, the shopkeeper forced me an extra one and charging me for that (too obvious) with a big grin on his face.

Methinks these shopkeepers are like the foolish farmer and I am the hen that lays golden eggs. This kind of service pisses me off and I take a silent resolution not to visit the shop again unless in dire need. I like those shopkeepers who whole heartedly serve whatever is ordered and not trying to squeeze the extra juice. I think that increases the loyal customer base and increases the level of satisfaction. I hate being a chicken (or the hen in this case).

Leave a comment

Filed under childhood, India, job, life, society

Leave a Reply

